Huskers Announce 2017-18 Schedule

The Nebraska wrestling team released its 2017-18 schedule on Monday, as the Huskers will face a slate that features seven of the top-25 team finishers from last year’s NCAA Championships.

The Huskers will host their annual Coaches Clinic/Intrasquad on Friday, Oct. 27 before heading to a pair of open tournaments the next weekend. NU will first wrestle at the Harold Nichols Cyclone Open in Ames, Iowa, on Saturday, Nov. 4, before heading to the Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open on Sunday, Nov. 5.

Nebraska’s home opener is slated for Friday, Nov. 17 against Wyoming at the Devaney Center at 7 p.m. On Saturday, Nov. 25, NU will battle West Virginia in Morgantown, W.Va.

On Friday, Dec. 1 and Saturday, Dec. 2, the Huskers will compete at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Collegiate Wrestling Invitational in Las Vegas, Nev.

The Huskers will finish the 2017 calendar year with a pair of home duals. NU will welcome NC State, which finished 17th at last season’s NCAA Championships, to the Devaney Center on Friday, Dec. 15, before grappling with North Carolina on Sunday, Dec. 17.

Nebraska’s Big Ten slate opens Friday, Jan. 5, as the Huskers travel to Champaign, Ill., to take on Illinois, which finished 11th at last season’s NCAA Championships. NU will return home that same weekend to face Maryland on Sunday, Jan. 7 at the Devaney Center.

The Huskers are home again the following weekend, as NU hosts Purdue on Friday, Jan. 12.

The following weekend, Nebraska will head to Evanston, Ill., to take on Northwestern on Friday, Jan. 19, before returning to the Devaney Center to host Rutgers, the 19th place finisher at last year’s NCAA Championships, on Sunday, Jan. 21.

Nebraska’s final home dual and Senior Day for the 2017-18 senior class will take place on Sunday, Jan. 28, as the Huskers welcome Indiana to the Devaney Center.

The Huskers will embark on a four-dual road swing to close the regular season, beginning with a Friday, Feb. 2 matchup with 2017 NCAA 10th-place finisher Michigan. NU will then face Michigan State on Sunday, Feb. 4 in East Lansing, Mich. The next weekend, NU will face Wisconsin in Madison, Wis., on Friday, Feb. 9, in Nebraska’s last Big Ten dual of the season.

The Huskers will close the regular season with a dual at Stanford, set for Friday, Feb. 16.

The Big Ten Championships are scheduled for March 3-4 in East Lansing, Mich., and the NCAA Championships are set for March 15-17 in Cleveland, Ohio.

Season and single-match tickets for the 2017-18 season will go on sale in October.

2017-18 Nebraska Wrestling Schedule (all times central)
Friday, Oct. 27: Coaches Clinic/Intrasquad – 9 a.m.
Saturday, Nov. 4: Harold Nichols Cyclone Open – 9 a.m.
Sunday, Nov. 5: Warren Williamson/Daktronics Open – 9 a.m.
Friday, Nov. 17: Wyoming – 7 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 25: at West Virginia – TBA
Friday, Dec. 1-Saturday, Dec. 2: Cliff Keen Las Vegas Collegiate Wrestling Invitational – 11 a.m.
Friday, Dec. 15: NC State – 7 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 17: North Carolina – 2 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 5: at Illinois – 7 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 7: Maryland – 2 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 12: Purdue – 7 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 19: at Northwestern – 7 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 21: Rutgers – 2 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 28: Indiana – 2 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 2: at Michigan – 6 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 4: at Michigan State – Noon
Friday, Feb. 9: at Wisconsin – 7 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 16: at Stanford – 9 p.m.
Saturday, March 3 – Sunday, March 4: Big Ten Championships – TBA
Thursday, March 15 – Saturday, March 17: NCAA Championships – TBA

All home duals will be held at the Devaney Center. Dates and times are subject to change. For ticket information, visit Huskers.com/Tickets.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s