by Dru Kastler

UN – Lincoln
Redshirts @ Grand View Open

Former NE HS wrestlers that competed – Andrew Nielsen (Plattsmouth), Trevor Nichelson (Ashland-Greenwood), Colton Wolfe (Columbus)

UN – Kearney
Wins over Fresno State 19-17 and San Francisco State 26-19

UNK edged Division 1 opponent Fresno State who reinstated their program this year after dropping wrestling in 2006. Picking up wins were Lincoln Southeast grad Jonathan Killingsworth, Kearney High’s Trey Schlender, Zach Stodden, Isaac Deaton and true Freshman Clayton Glendy from Broken Bow received a forfeit victory which was the difference in the dual as each team had five wins apiece.

Picking up wins for the Lopers against Division II opponent SF State were Boys Town’s Kevin Barrett and Seth Harrington, as well as Killingsworth, Schlender, Stodden and Deaton, who all won matches in the first dual.

UNK also saw action at the Grand View Open

@ Grand View Open
Wes Dawkins – 2nd Open Division
Jarrod Hinrichs – 3rd Open Division
Vlad Kazakov – 4th Open Division

Former NE HS wrestlers that competed – Wes Dawkins (Lincoln High), Dakota Hernandez (Lexington), Logan Searle (SCNU #5), Jarrod Hinrichs (Fillmore Central), Brady Radik (Gretna)

Chadron State
Idle (intrasquad dual on 11/9)

Bethany College Open
Jeremiah Gerl – 1st
Richard Pocock – 2nd
Chris Vaughan – 4th

Former NE HS wrestlers that competed – Zac Charity (Millard South), Josh Velasquez (Bennington), Huy Truong (Hastings)

Bethany College Open
Austin Coy – 3rd
Jack Murphy – 4th

Grand View Open
Cody Lambert – 6th Fresh/Soph Division
Darrin Miller – 2nd Fresh/Soph Division
Cyrus Marshall – 5th Fresh/Soph Division
Michael Stann – 5th Fresh/Soph Division
Anthony Zepeda – 5th Open Division

Former NE HS wrestlers that competed – Wyatt Brauckmuller (Ashland-Greenwood), Cody Lambert (Ashland-Greenwood), Cy Marshall (Columbus), Walker Fisher (Ashland-Greenwood), Alexander Reimers (Aquinas)

Dakota Wesleyan Open
Triston Santos – 4th
Zach Linton – 4th
Chandler Knight – 6th

Former NE HS wrestlers that competed – George Shadbolt (Gordon-Rushville), Tylor Tobler (Ravenna), Jackson Bates (Wilber-Clatonia), Kain Songster (Centennial), Craig Hudiburgh (Aurora), Jake Smith (Lincoln Southeast)

Nebraska Wesleyan
Luther College Open
Ryan Smales – 4th Silver Division
Nick Pray – 5th Silver Division
Brayden Dowding – 6th Silver Division

Former NE HS wrestlers that competed – Jared Nickman (Pius), Nathan Hunt (Lincoln SE), Matthew Fricke (Pius), Alex Kerr (Pius), Ben Lodema (Raymond Central), Justin Hennessy (Waverly), Ryan Smales (Bellevue West), Garland Levering (Omaha North), Brayden Dowding (Waverly), Jorge Hernandez (Wilber-Clatonia), Cody Pester (Syracuse), Jesse Malmkar (Pius), Maison Clark (Papillion-LaVista South), Cody Stremick (Millard North), Dustin Monroe (Malcolm), Ian Ingwersen (Bishop-Nuemann), Sam Simpson (Conestoga), Nick Pray (Creighton Prep), Austin Lampkin (Scribner-Snyder)

Dakota Wesleyan Open

Former NE HS wrestler that competed – Tristan Snover (Seward)

Other former NE HS wrestlers that competed this past weekend:

Former Omaha Skutt standout Korbin Meink split matches this weekend in varsity dual action as a true freshman for Division 1 Campbell University.

Open tournament competitors:

Otis Rollins (Omaha North) for Colby CC @ UNC Open
Gabriel Ledesman (Kearney) for Colby CC
Preston Lauterbach (Bellevue West) for CSU-Pueblo (6th @ UNC Open)
Tanner Wernsman (Sidney/Arapahoe) for Dakota Wesleyan @ DWU Open
Cade Brownlee (Creighton Prep) for Iowa (8th at Luther Open)
Kole Gray (Plattsmouth) for Iowa Western CC @ Grand View Open
Tony Heng (Nebraska City) for Minnesota St – Mankato @ Luther College Open
Tucker Bassinger (Beatrice) for Morningside @ DWU Open
Brendan Crews (Papillion LaVista) for Morningside
Lane Eggen (DC West) for Morningside
Keegan Hessler for Morningside (5th @ DWU Open)
Jacob Hergott for Morningside (5th @ DWU Open)
Tucker Hicks (Hershey) for Morningside
Sean Mendlik (Archbishop Bergan) for Morningside
Alex Thompson (Norfolk) for Morningside
Andrew Null (Plattsmouth) for Northwestern, IA
Nick Null (Plattsmouth) for Northwestern, IA (2nd @ DWU Open)
Brandon Shuler (Plattsmouth) for Northwestern, IA (2nd @ DWU Open)
Dan Zeleny (Gretna) for Northwestern, IA (4th @ DWU Open)
Brett Velasquez (Bennington) for St. Cloud State (1st @ DWU Open)
Trevor Walton (Boys Town) for Wartburg @ Luther College Open

By Ross Bartachek (@rossbchek)

Lead Editor of IA Wrestle

Leave a Reply