GNAC Tournament (Kearney):
All but one weight class had 1 or more wrestler ranked in the top 6 of either class A or class B. Kearney used three individual champions and thirteen top 4 finishers to win the team title with a 39-point margin over Scottsbluff. Phillip Moomey (120), Nick James (132) and Lee Herrington (285) continued their dominant seasons earning individual titles and combining for 10 bonus point victories. Brayden Smith (106), Gauge McBride (126), Teontae Wilson (145) and Izzy Bautista (220) all finished 2nd for the Bearcats. Carter Kucera (113) and Colton Wolfe (195) combined for 8 falls and won their individual weight classes, while Carson Zwingman (152) and Zach Baldwin (170) both finished as runner-ups for the Discoverers. Brayden Splater (138) and Alexander Thompson (182) both finished 2nd, with Thompson’s only loss coming to 182B #2 Salem Harsh. Jayson Scott of North Platte (120) finished 2nd only losing to top-ranked Moomey while wrestling up a weight class from 113.

Notable Results:
120- #1 Phillip Moomey won by fall in 1:08 over #5 at 113 Jayson Scott
132- #1 Nick James won 11-7 over B#1 Connor Laux
195- #1 Colton Wolfe won by fall in 0:33 #5 Sean Jackson
220- #6 Izzy Bautista won by fall in 3:06 over #2 Wyatt Olcott
285- #1 Lee Herrington won by fall in 1:49 over B#4 Genaro Gurrola

Lincoln High Duals:
Lincoln Southwest 173 points and only allowed 53 points in their 3 duals to run away with the tournament title. 2nd place Lincoln Pius won 45-34 over Papio South and 66-18 over Lincoln High. Papio South beat lincoln High 45-24 for their lone win.

Notable Results:
160- #3 Conner Willey won by fall in 5:04 over #4 Joshua Guerra
160- #4 Joshua Guerra won 7-3 over #5 Tyler Carstens
195- UR Jon Hamilton won 3-2 over #6 Jarrett Myers

Yankton Invite:
Millard South finished 7.5 points behind tournament champion Pierre (South Dakota) ending their streak of 32 consecutive tournament titles and set the class A and All-Class record. Blake Jackson (106), Creighton Baughman (126) and Doug Weidner (182) won their individual brackets and combine for 7 falls, 1 technical fall and 1 major decision. Connor Olin (152) finished 2nd, Austin McDonald (145) and Braden Trimble (170) finished 3rd and four others placed in the top 5 for the Patriots.

River Cities Conference:
In this 7-team conference tournament Ralston finished 3rd, led by Rob Jensen who recorded 4 first period falls to win the title at 152. Alex Everhart (138), Dajour Willis (220) and Kainan Bowyer (285) finished 2nd in their respective weight classes. South Sioux City finished 4th and had Jensen Wallace (152), Luis Queuzada (195) and Trey Slaughter (220) placed 3rd.

Eastern Midlands Conference:
Elkhorn South finished 8th at this conference tournament full of class B teams.
Jordan Edwards led the way for the Storm winning his semifinal and final matches in sudden victory and tiebreaker respectively. Hunter Johnson finished 2nd at 145 and Josh Via finished 4th at 132.

Notable Result:
182- Jordan Edwards won 2-1 in tie breaker 1 B#4 Gavin Eason

Wakefield Tournament:
Omaha South finished 6th out of 10 teams with Deonte Young earning 2 falls on the way to an individual title at 170. Chance Costes (126) placed 3rd while Conar Barnes (106), Julian Alzate (138), Andres Benito (170) and Mikey Vasquez (182) finished 4th.

Leave a Reply