Heartland Athletic Conference Tournament (at Lincoln East):
Lincoln Southwest won this 8-team tournament with 187 points to runner-up Lincoln Southeast’s 137 points. The Silverhawks were led by their upperweights, as Tyler Carstens (160), Justin Shaw (182), Jarrett Myers (195), and Connor Clanton (220) won their individual brackets while 4 others finished 2nd. Lincoln Southeast brought home 3 titles thanks to Adam Kinnaman (126), Chance Fry (132) and Braxton Betancur (145). Two others finished in 2nd place for the Knights. Grand Island finished in 3rd place on the strength of champions Eliceo Ramirez (106), Zack Kuta (138) and Aidan Williams (152). Fremonth finished 4th with champions Noah Molzahn (120) and Justin Pettit (170). Maxx Mayfield of Lincoln East (113) and Mohammed Majid of Lincoln High (285) were the other two champions.

Notable Results:
113- #2 Maxx Mayfield won 10-1 over #6 Cody Fielder
126- #4 Cody Carlson won by fall in 3:16 over #5 Chayton Koch
126- #3 Adam Kinnaman 29-1 won 9-2 over #4 Cody Carlson
132- #3 Chance Fry won 11-3 over #6 Kolton Sliva
170- #4 Justin Pettit won 6-4 in sudden victory 1 over #5 Isaiah Alford

UNK Midwest Duals:
Kearney closed the gap on B#1 Gretna from the Flatwater Fracas, but it wasn’t enough to bring home the title. 39-33 was the score at the Fracas, and the Bearcats lost 34-30 at the UNK Midwest Duals. Heading into the finals, Kearney had outscored their first three opponents 193-30. Columbus finished 3rd, also only losing to eventual champion Gretna. The Discoverers outscored their four other opponents 203-81. Lincoln Pius X finished 4th winning two of their four duals.

Undefeated Wrestlers with at least 3 matches contested:
106- Brayden Smith of Kearney went 4-0
120- Phillip Moomey of Kearney went 4-0
132- Jesse Appel of Columbus went 5-0
132- Nick James of Kearney went 4-0
145- Teontae Wilson of Kearney went 4-0
152- Jerimiah Hagemann of Kearney JV went 5-0
160- Bronson Amend of Kearney JV went 4-0
170- Reece Nicol of Kearney went 4-0
195- Colton Wolfe of Columbus went 5-0
220- Wyatt Olcott of Columbus went 5-0
285- Lee Herrington of Kearney went 3-0

Notable Results:
113- UR Jayson Scott won 8-1 over #4 Carter Kucera
120- #1 Phillip Moomey won 9-5 over B#1 Trevor Fauver
160- #3 Trey Grube won 21-6 over #2 Joshua Guerra
170- #1 Braiden Ruffin won 12-10 in sudden victory 1 over 182#5 Zach Baldwin
195- #1 Colton Wolfe won by fall in 4:21 over B#1 Grant Bruner
285- #1 Lee Herrington won by fall in 1:32 over B#3 Pat Arnold

Columbus vs Valentine Dual in the Bob Devaney Center:
Valentine 32 Columbus 24

Notable Results:
195- #1 Colton Wolfe won by fall in 1:04 over C#3 Dean Haase
285- #2 Cy Marshall won 6-5 over C#4 Jared Fulton

Schuyler Invite:
Elkhorn South took 11 wrestlers to this 15-team tournament and placed two in the top 3. Josh Via (126) finished 2nd, losing only to the #1 ranked wrestler in class C while Jordan Edwards (182) finished 3rd only losing to the 6th ranked wrestler in class B.

West Holt Invitational:
Norfolk won this 9-team tournament with a 17 point margin over a South Dakota team on the strength of 11 top-4 placers. Aaron Dittmer (106) was their lone champion, but Derek Summers (126), Jackson Reeves (132), Brayden Splater (138), Alexander Thompson (182), and Matthew Montgomery (220) all finished as runner-ups.

Le Mars Invite (Iowa):
South Sioux City brought 10 wrestlers to this 11-team tournament, and the Cardinals saw Tyson Merchant (170) and Kiefer Koster (285) finish 3rd and five others finish in the top 7.

Leave a Reply