Class A Duals/Triangulars:

Bellevue East 51 Bellevue West 24
The potential matchup of 132 #4 Jakody Rezac vs #5 Oscar Baird did not happen

Millard West 47 Millard North 34
Millard South 72 Millard North 9
Millard South 62 Millard West 13

Millard South dominated the Millard Duals only giving up 22 points combined. In the most anticipated match of the event at 126, Creighton Baughman won 6-2 over Jack Huffman. Baughman scored two takedowns in the first period and earned points from an escape and stalling call against Huffman. Huffman locked up double overhooks in the last 25 seconds of the match, but was unable to score. Millard South bumped up Doug Weidner from 182 to 195 to wrestle #3 Doug Vawter, and it appeared that Weidner was going to give Vawter trouble. Both wrestlers traded attacks in the first minute, but Vawter opened the scoring with a double leg and nearfall. Weidner put up a good fight, but Vawter used his horsepower to eventually earn the fall at the end of the 3rd period. Rajan Ellebb and Alex Dukart was a spirited match with extracurricular activity occuring out of bounds on a few occassions. Dukart was awarded a point when Ellebb was penalized for unsportsmanlike conduct, and with both wrestlers earning escapes, that point was the difference. Dukart was called for stalling in the last 40 seconds of the match, but fired off a few attacks to keep the official off his back. Top ranked Zac Charity used a variety of attacks to rack up 5 takedowns in the first period over #5 Ben Holman, eventually earning a technical fall.

Notable Results:
126- #1 Creighton Baughman won 6-2 over 120 #1 Jack Huffman
138- #1 Zac Charity won by technical fall over #5 Ben Holman
160- #1 DJ Coleman won 9-5 over unranked Isaac Trumble
170- #2 Braden Trimble won by fall over #5 M, A, Yah II
195- #3 Doug Vawter won by fall at approx. 5:45 over unranked 182 Doug Weidner
220- #4 Alex Dukart won 2-1 over #195 #5 Rajan Ellebb
285- unranked Derek Bithell won 14-4 over 220 #6 Brooke Krinklaw

Class B Duals:

Gothenburg 38 Lexington 35
Scottsbluff 63 Lexington 18
Scottsbluff 52 Gothenburg 24

Notable Results:
120- unranked Jerryd Hernandez won 3-2 in UTB over #6 Wyatt Hotz
126- #4 Devon’Tae Gutierrez won 12-1 over #6 Bryce Larson
138- #2 Rob Price won by fall in 3:32 over 145 #5 Austin Probasco

Bennington 39 Beatrice 38
Columbus Lakeview 51 Aurora 24

Wahoo Invitational
Wahoo used 5 champions to win their home invitational with 186 points over Nebraska City’s 164 points. Bret Walker (126), Zane Bennett (152), Sam Kolterman (182), Jack Sutton (195), and Cole Krecklow (220) all won titles for the Warriors while Tucker Hancock. Nebraska City had 3 champions including Chris Adams (120), Rhett Trail (145), and Dalton Williams (285). Andrew Harrah (195) and Jake Kreifel (220) finished 2nd in their brackets and the Pioneers had three wrestlers finish 3rd. Lincoln Pius X finished 3rd in the team race with Josh Guerra (160) winning his bracket and Jayden Schriner (120), Nick McCarthy (126), and Robbie Farber (285) finishing 2nd. Waverly finished 4th in the team race and thanks to Preston Johnson (106) and Kaleb Canoyer (138) placing first. Other champions were Ryan Zoucha (113), Max Hohn (132), and Jake Prochaska (170).

Notable Results:
138- B#5 Kaleb Canoyer won 1-1 in overtime over D#4 Ryley Spatz
145- unranked Rhett Trail won by fall in 5:57 over D#4 Dalton Bohac
152- B#4 Zane Bennett won by fall in 1:51 over D#4 Edwen Baptista
195- unranked Andrew Harrah won by fall in 3:42 over D#4 Brandon Rezac
220- B#2 Cole Krecklow won 4-1 over B#6 Jake Kreifel
285- unranked Dalton Williams won by fall in 4:45 over A#2 Robbie Farber

Class C/D Duals and Tournaments:

Raymond Central 45 Yutan 30
Tekamah-Herman 54 Yutan 21
Tekamah-Herman 42 Raymond Central 36

Elgin Public-Pope John Invitational

Cross County/Osceola took home the team title with 136 points with Alex Dubas (138), Garrett Davidson (220) and Hunter Miller (285) placing first and Cristian Carranza placing 2nd. Elkhorn Valley finished second, only 8.5 points behind CC/O on the strength of champions Dillon Stewart (113), Alejandro Martinez (120), Darren Stewart (132). Palmer finished in 3rd place on 2.5 points behind EV with Spencer Wichmann (145), Connor Donscheski (152) winning their brackets and Payton Placke (113) and Chandler Donscheski (160) finishing 2nd. Other champions were Cameron Wilkinson (106), Cole Laible (126), Drew Loberg (160), Sergey Parry (170), Seth Racicky (182), and Will Atkeson (195).

Notable Results:
106 #3 Cam Wilkinson won 9-0 over Kaiden Mrsny
120- Garrett Nuemeister won 13-7 over Connors Sonderup
120- #1 Alejandro Martinez won by fall in 4:55 over Garrett Nuemeister
120- unranked Cristian Carranza won by fall in 3:08 over #5 Bryson Bovee
132- #3 Darren Stewart won by fall in 3:41 over #5 Andrew Herley
145- Colby Coons won 12-3 over Brady Oliver
145- Jake Judge won 7-5 over Colby Coons
145- #6 Spencer Wichmann won 14-4 over #5 Joshua McFarland
145- #6 Spencer Wichmann won by fall in 3:20 over Jake Judge
152- #5 Connor Donscheski won 13-12 over #6 Jared Atkeson
160- #1 Drew Loberg won by fall in 1:51 over #3 Leland Bowder
160- #2 Chandler Donscheski won 6-2 over #4 170 Breydon Mlady
160- #1 Drew Loberg won by fall in 3:16 over #2 Chandler Donscheski
170- Colton Cavaness won 5-1 over Layne Heese
220- C#3 Garret Davidson won by fall in 2:15 over #3 Seth Wentworth
285- #6 Dalton Rath won 12-7 over Quintin Saunsoci
285- Cole Rosenkrans won 4-0 over Jade Buss West

Wayne Blue Machine Tournament

Crofton won the team title with 143 points thanks to individual champions Quinten Moles (152) and Kaleb Johnson (195). Finishing second for Warriors were Max Boecker (126), Jaden Janssen (170), Ethan Poppe (182) and Jared Hornback (285). 2nd place Wayne finished 12.5 points behind Crofton with four champions in Cameron Muhs (120), Gage Schultz (132), Mikey Reyes (220) and Hunter Jorgensen (285). Berto Vergara (195) finished as runner-up for the Blue Devils. Creighton finished in 3rd place also recording four champions in Connor Hazen (113), Derek Wortman (9-3), Bryce Zimmerer (145) and Brady Wortman (160). Other champions were Koby Ellis (106), Cody Yawn (132), Cooper VonSeggern (170), and Cody Thomas (182).

Notable Result:
132: C#3 Cody Yawn won by fall in 4:55 over D#4 Jacob Johnson

Leave a Reply