John Higgins Invite Preview

Five top ten ranked teams will battle at this perennially solid tournament hosted by Lexington. Trey Arellano (138) and Damen Pape (170) will likely face top ranked opponents from Kansas in the finals. Arellano’s potential opponent is a returning state runner-up, while Pape’s potential opponent is a returning state champion. 160 features four top 5 ranked opponents from Classes A and B. The finals at 126 may feature the top 2 ranked Class B wrestlers with Diaz and Rocheleau. Diaz won 3-1 in sudden victory at the GNAC tournament over Rocheleau in late December, so expect an exciting match in the finals. 113, 126, 132, 138, and 145 feature 3 ranked wrestlers.

Returning champions from last year’s 2018 tournament include Tanner York of Beatrice (106), Bryce Brown of Hastings (113), Trey Arellano of Sidney (132), and Damen Pape of Hastings (170). Arellano is seeking his 4th tournament title, as he won the tournament at 106 as a freshman and at 120 as a sophomore. Bryce Brown is seeking his 3rd tournament title, as he also won the tournament at 106 his freshman year.

2018 Team Scores
1. Hastings 187.0
2. Sidney 167.5
3. Lexington 151.0
4. Lincoln SW 136.5
5. Holdrege 116.0
6. Beatrice 115.5

2019 Teams:
4A#1 Scott Community (Kansas)
B#5 Hastings
B#9 Lexington
B#9 North Platte
A#6 Norfolk
Adams Central
Lincoln Southwest
*Bennington is not attending this tournament because of inclement weather.

2019 Competitors
B#1 Quinton Chavez, Gering (21-­2)
Austin Munier, Sidney (24­-4)
Ivan Lazo. Lexington (19-­4)

B#2 Tristen Obermiller, Adams Central (24-­1)
B#4 Tanner York, Beatrice (19-­5)
B#6 Jace Russman, Cozad (29­-1)
Cameron Brauer, Sidney (22-­6)

B#2 Drew Arnold Beatrice 10 23­2
B#6 Dylan Miller, Hastings (26­-6)
Ean Bailey, Lexington (21­-6)
Jacob Peckham, Sidney (17­-7)
Talyn Campbell, McCook (18­-9)

B#1 Darian Diaz, North Platte (31­-1)
B#2 Nate Rocheleau, Gering (23­-2)
B#5 Bryce Brown, Hastings (10­-1)
Trevor Reinke Beatrice (18­-6)

4A#1 Justus McDaniel, Scott Community (8­-0)
B#3 Izaak Hunsley, Hastings (24­-5)
B#6 Wyatt Hotz, Gothenburg (28­-6)
Brady Fago Lexington, (23-­2)

B#1 Trey Arellano, Sidney (27­-1)
4A#1 Kaden Wren, Scott Community (11­-1)
B#5 Mason Brumbaugh, Hastings (27-­4)
Cameron Kort, Adams Central (20­-4)
Breckin Loftin, Cozad (14­-5)

4A#4 Theron Tucker, Scott Community (11­-0)
B#4 Brody Raines, Sidney (27­-4)
B#5 Trystan Berry, Lexington (18­-4)
Kaleb Pohl, Cozad (26­-9)

A#3 Joshua Licking, Norfolk (16­-3)
B#4 Blake Hoffmaster, Cozad (23-­4)
KC Higer, Sidney (27­-3)

B#1 Riley Kopf Lexington (21­-2)
B#4 Brody Nelson, Beatrice (17­-3)
A#2 Brayden Splater, Norfolk (27­-6)
B#5 Cash Arensdorf, North Platte (27­-6)
Brady Robb, Sidney (27-­5)
Ethan Carstens, Lincoln Southwest (18­-7)

B#1 Damen Pape, Hastings (29­-0)
4A#1 Wyatt Hayes, Scott Community (12­-0)
Conner Wescoat, Cozad (29­-7)

B#6 Alec Langan, McCook 10 (21­-4)
Jazper Bare, Norfolk (19­-0)
Aidan Stuart, Lexington (18­-8)
Noah Machnicki, Adams Central (12­-6)

Imanol Munoz, Holdrege (17­-4)
Evan Morara, Hastings (22­-7)
Conner Brown, Adams Central (18­-8)
Hunter Mangelsen, Norfolk (23­-11)

4A#2 Kyle Sherwood, Scott Community (12­-1)
B#5 Collin Giron, McCook (10­-6)
Hayden Hofrock Sidney 11 (22­-7)
Cade Stott, Cozad (20­-12)

A#1 Conner Cowling, Norfolk (33­-0)
B#3 Jade Wurth, Lexington (23­-1)
Josh Stallbaumer, Cozad (27­-3)
Josh Callejas, Hastings (18­-5)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s