Derek Robb of Sidney High School has been named the Nebraska winner of the Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award. The award recognizes and celebrates senior male wrestlers for their excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship, and community service. One male from each state is selected along with 5 regional winners (West, Midwest, Central, Southeast,and Northeast) from the state winners.

Off the mat, Robb’s accolades include:
-4.0 GPA
-5x NCPA All-State Awards in football, wrestling, and track
-Volunteer coach with the Sidney Federation kids wrestling club
-Mentor at Sidney Elementary
-The only member of Sidney’s 2018 graduating class to be a letter-winner in 3 sports every year (12 total letters)

On the mat, Robb amassed a 204-1 career record and collected 160 falls
on his way to four class B state championships for Sidney High School.

Past Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award Winners:
2017 Korbin Meink (Skutt Catholic)
2016 Zemua Baptista (Friend)
2015 Doyle Trout (Centennial)
2014 Will Schany (Blair)
2013 Ronald Wells (Omaha Central)
2012 Thomas Gilman (Skutt Catholic)
2011 Austin Wilson (Hastings St. Cecelia)

Husker signees Alex Thomsen (Iowa) and Brock Hardy (Utah) were also named winners for their respective states.

The announcement in its entirety can be found here:

Leave a Reply