Kearney scored 153 points and is in 2nd place on day 1 of this 37-team tournament that includes teams from Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico and Nebraska. The Bearcats are only 15.5 points behind Pueblo East (CO) and have 3 finalists including Phillip Moomey (126), Nick James (138) and Lee Herrington (285). They have combined for 5 falls, 3 technical falls and 1 major decision. The Bearcats still have 14 wrestlers alive entering day 2. Losing in the quarterfinals were Dallyn Ritchie (106), Brayden Smith (113), Jud Kuchera (152), Sean Jackson (195), and Conner Brown (220). Losing in the semifinals were Gage Ferguson (120) and Teontae Wilson (145).

Finals Matchups
126- Phillip Moomey vs Jace Koelzer (Olathe South, KS)
Moomey beat Kolezer 3-0 at the Council Bluffs Classic back in December. Koelzer is a Kansas State Champion, former Fargo All-American and Northern Colorado signee.

138- Nick James vs Colton Yapoujian (Pomona, CO)
Yapoujian has been in and out of the national rankings, and beat Moomey in the finals of this tournament last year. Yapoujian is a former Fargo National Champion, Walsh Ironman placer, and Colorado State Champion.

285- Lee Herrington vs Cohlton Schultz (Ponderosa, CO)
Schultz won a Cadet Greco World Title this fall and won the Walsh Ironman tournament back in December.

Scottsbluff is in 12th place heading into day 2. Five of the seven wrestlers they brought are still alive including Devon’Tae Gutierriez (138) and Elijah Blanco (160) who lost in the quarterfinals. Paul Garcia (106), Mario Ybarra (132), and Garrett Nelson (285) advanced to the semifinals before losing.

Leave a Reply