Nebraska was again well represented in a collegiate open, this time at the UNK Younes Hospitality Open. There were two divisions in the event, an amateur division for younger wrestlers, as well as an elite division. State colleges and universities UNK, UNL, Chadron State, Concordia, Hastings, York, Doane, Midland and Wayne State were all represented.

In the amateur division former Nebraska high school wrestlers for ALL FOUR classes captured top-six finishes. Former Nebraska HS wrestlers Ladamien Sturdivant, Nick James and Joseph Reimers captured tournament titles!

In the elite division former Plainview four-time state champion Christian Miller won the 141lb division and Kearney native Dante Rodriguez won the 149lb division competing unattached. In a fun tidbit, former Husker Football standout Jack Gangwish donned his Wood River singlet and competed unattached in the elite division. Jack was a 2011 state runner-up for Wood River.

Complete results for the tournament can be found on FloArena

Amateur Division medalists from Nebraska:

Kavika Aholelei (Hastings) 3rd place

Ladamien Sturdivant (Iowa Western/Omaha Bryan) 1st place

Nick James (UNK/Kearney High) 1st place

Melvin Hernandez (Iowa Western/David City) 3rd place

Chance Fry (Iowa Western/Lincoln East) 4th place

Anthony Espinoza (Hastings) 5th place
Preston Renner (Chadron State) 6th place

Gavin Eason (Chadron State/Norris) 6th place

Joseph Reimers (UNK/Aquinas) 1st place
Josh McFarland (Iowa Western/Elkhorn Valley) 3rd place
Lance Jarrett (U Mary/Gretna) 4th place

Andrew Demos (UNK) 6th place

Mason Watt (Chadron State) 3rd place
Eli Hinojosa (Chadron State/Chase County) 6th place

Other former Nebraska HS wrestlers in Amateur Division:
125: Cesar Sandoval (Midland/Conestoga)
125: Jackson Nielsen (UNK/Blair)
125: Kobe Pacsoza-Hall (Hastings/Columbus)
133: Andy Rojas (Colby/Lexington)
133: Ryan Zoucha (Wayne St/Malcolm)
133: Carter Kucera (Concordia/Columbus)
141: Prestin Vondra (Midland/Elkhorn Valley)
141: Joel Ostrom (Cloud County/Burwell)
141: Beau Kaup (Midland/Logan View)
141: Kaden Boyce (York/Ord)
141: Trey Arellano (Northeastern/Sidney)
141: Corey Parsons (York/North Platte)
149: Harrison Gocke (Chadron/York)
149: Evan Waddington (Chadron/Wood River)
149: Kaleb Canoyer (UNK/Waverly)
157: Levi May (Iowa Western/Millard West)
157: Noah Rutjens (Iowa Western/Elkhorn Valley)
165: Carter Pursley (Hastings/Aurora)
165: Seth Simants (Chadron/Stapleton)
165: Kody Hahn (Colby/McCook)
174: Jud Kucera (UNK/Kearney)
174: Garrett Cornwell (Doane/Boone Central)
184: Joseph Felix (Hastings/Alma)
184: Aiden Smith (Colby/Minden)
184: Ryder Fuchs (Chadron/Pierce)
197: Marce Vasquez (York/Bridgeport)
197: Bryan McGahan (Concordia/Hershey)
197: Sean Jackson (Colby/Kearney)
197: Gavin Peitzmeier (Chadron/Millard South)
197: Doug Lazo (York/York)
285: Jack Sutton (UNK/Wahoo)

Elite Division notable medalists:

Josh Portillo (UNK) 3rd place
Mario Ybarra (Concordia/Scottsbluff) 5th place

Jack Huffman (Augustana/Millard West) 2nd place
John Feeney (Central Missouri/Omaha NW) 3rd place

Christian Miller (Nebraska/Plainview) 1st place
Jonathan Killingsworth (UNK/Lincoln Southeast) 5th place
Jevon Perrish (Nebraska) 6th place

Dante Rodriguez (Unattached/Kearney) 1st place
Kevon Davenport (Nebraska) 2nd place
Caleb Licking (Nebraska/Norfolk) 4th place

Clayton Wilson (Nebraska) 1st place
Tyler Cunningham (UNK/Gretna) 2nd place
Walker Johnson (UNK/Alliance) 5th place

Jake Silverstein (Nebraska) 4th place

Colton Wolfe (Nebraska/Columbus) 2nd place

Wade French (Chadron State) 1st place

Ceron Francisco (former Concordia) 2nd place

Other former Nebraska HS wrestlers in Elite Division:
125: Doyle Trout (Wyoming/Centennial)
125: Jake Stogdill (Colorado SM/Millard North)
141: Joe Ritzen (Chadron/Chadron)
141: Wesley Dawkins (UNK/Lincoln High)
149: Tristan Snover (Midland/Seward)
149: Caleb Haskell (Chadron/Madison)
149: Teontae Wilson (UNK/Kearney)
157: Tyson Dowler (Unattached/Alliance)
157: Damon Rodriguez (Unattached/Kearney)
197: Gabriel Ledesma (Unattached/Kearney)
285: Jack Gangwish (Husker Football/Wood River)
285: Lee Herrington (UNK/Kearney)

2 thoughts on “UNK Younes Hospitality Open Results”

Leave a Reply to GeorgeCancel reply